

January Notes 1/19/18

The KVAS met at Ryans for dinner at 6:00 for the annual January election. The dinner was a pleasant affair with several members attending and enjoying an evening together. The main business of the evening was the election of new officers for 2018. We would like to express our thanks to Rodney Waugh and Robert Dean for their hard work and dedication to KVAS as members and officer holders of the club.

New and Continuing Officers for the 2018 year are as follows:

President Janet Willson*

Vice President Bob Frostick*

Treasurer John Willson

Secretary Deb Frostick

Co Observatory Directors Ed Connors and Rodney Waugh*

New Officers*

Items discussed

The Board of Directors election will be the topic of discussion at the February meeting. Lewis Cook's term expired this year and John Giroir resigned.

The club will also look at the Club's By-Laws to determine if any changes need to be made.

Members are reminded that dues for the new year will be due next month.

The land agreement runs out in June. Scott suggested a safety audit to determine what is needed to be eligible for recreational insurance at no cost to the club.

Scott Blake will continue to organize Yuri Gagarin Night on April 21 at Camp Virgil Tate.

There will be a Neal Armstrong movie released in the theaters in October 2018.

Proposed Star Parties at Beach Fork on Messier Objects and at Cato Park for *Parks at Dark*. Further discussion is needed.

It is possible that 3 of the eyepieces for the telescope are missing or placed in alternate storage spaces. Bob Frostick and Scott Blake noticed the discrepancy. The Observatory Directors will investigate.

The lock on the observatory door is becoming difficult to lock and unlock. A locksmith will be called to determine if it can be repaired or needs replaced.

If KVAS decides to write a grant thru The Greater Kanawha Valley Foundation, someone or committee will need to attend the grant writing class before writing it.

There is a new Director at Camp Virgil Tate—Janet.

Members present at the January meeting and election

Kaitlin Bedekovich	Bob Frostick	Kay Brown	Linda McCallister
Scott Blake	Judy Waugh	Rodney Waugh	Robert Dean
Ed Connors	Deb Frostick		

Notes by Deb Frostick, Secretary

Any discrepancy in notes need to be presented at the February 16th meeting at The Hansford Center.